The Ovation Fan Club
The Ovation Fan Club
Forum Search | Statistics | User Listing Forums | Calendars | Albums | Language
Your are viewing as a Guest. ( logon | register )

Random quote: “Music is a moral law. It gives soul to the universe, wings to the mind, flight to the imagination, and charm and gaiety to life and to everything.” -Plato

Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
shim

View previous thread :: View next thread
   Forums Archive -> The Vault: 2008Message format

Wagonmaster
Posted 2008-09-01 4:34 PM (#22766)
Subject: shim

As I've posted, I just started playing again after many years. I brought my new Ovation Elite home and despite the sore fingers (they're getting tougher), I'm having a great time. After a few days of playing my new guitar, I noticed that I was struggling with simple chords, getting the strings pressed down firmly, etc. While I was changing the strings today D'Addario light, Phosphor Bronze (feel free to comment here on a better selection for this guitar), I decided to remove one shim. Somehow the action now seems easier. Is this my imagination, or would removing the shim have that effect.
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Omaha
Posted 2008-09-01 4:40 PM (#22767 - in reply to #22766)
Subject: Re: shim

Not your imagination. That's exactly what you would expect.

Enjoy your O.
FlySig
Posted 2008-09-01 6:20 PM (#22768 - in reply to #22766)

You'll get a lot of different opinions on strings here! On my elite I like either Martin Marquis phos/bronze lights, or Cleartone phos/bronze lights. The D'adds sound a bit dull to my ears, but lots of folks here like them. Each guitar and each player seem to be a bit different in preference.
Old Man Arthur
Posted 2008-09-01 6:55 PM (#22769 - in reply to #22766)

On another forum; someone pointed-out that D'Addario's are readily available everywhere, which adds to there appeal... and they are relatively cheap. (But not necessarily better)