The Ovation Fan Club
The Ovation Fan Club
Forum Search | Statistics | User Listing Forums | Calendars | Albums | Language
Your are viewing as a Guest. ( logon | register )

Random quote: "Jazz... isn't that just a series of mistakes disguised as musical composition?” - David St. Hubbins of Spinal Tap

Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
Greets: New Guy, waiting for CC29 to arrive.

View previous thread :: View next thread
   The Ovation Fan Club -> Welcome CenterMessage format

flyingstarts
Posted 2011-09-08 12:22 AM (#851)
Subject: Greets: New Guy, waiting for CC29 to arrive.

Nice place you have here. A friend's Ovation (wish I knew the model) was the first guitar I had ever played back in 1982. Had to wipe some blood off now and then from enthusiasm.

For my living I'm a flight instructor, and thus far it hasn't earned me a very high budget for a guitar. I've mostly had used Takamines over the years. Now since my Martinesque Tak is getting very tired, I've decided to get back to that first love: I just ordered a new CC29S-4C.

First I got jilted yesterday on eBay, bidding on a used S771- I had won with the only bid, but the seller didn't deliver. I prefer guitars without bling, and the simplicity of the balladeer special really appealed to me. All the Ovation model numbers and names have been bewildering for me, as a newbie search of a simple and full-sounding guitar primarily for unplugged and amateur use.

Playing in guitar stores makes me a little bit uncomfortable, although I don't mind playing and singing in public. I can quietly look around in a used car lot- but checking out guitars is hard to do for someone who has anoyance or insecurity or something about retail sales pressure. With any luck, I'll have a nice guitar without having suffered a test.