The Ovation Fan Club
The Ovation Fan Club
Forum Search | Statistics | User Listing Forums | Calendars | Albums | Language
Your are viewing as a Guest. ( logon | register )

Random quote: "There are more love songs than anything else. If songs could make you do something we'd all love one another." -Frank Zappa

Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
New Folklore - Old Fan - New Member - need help already!

View previous thread :: View next thread
   The Ovation Fan Club -> Welcome CenterMessage format

Matt12Fret
Posted 2012-04-20 11:00 PM (#453485)
Subject: New Folklore - Old Fan - New Member - need help already!

Hi Folks,

Newbie here from Raleigh, NC. I am not yet allowed inside the "Deep Bowl" to post. Based on the OFC unity I have seen, I figure I am in the right place however!

I wanted a Balladeer as a college kid in the mid 70's real bad - didn't have the $$$. I now own a few Taylors, a Bedell 12-Fret Parlor, a Loar Small Body OO, a Breedlove C-25, and some other keepers. I always buy used, and get guitars, cars, (and women) right. Except my Ex that is! My interest has shifted towards 12 Fret Slotheads for Fingerstyle Blues. BUT, this here pushing 60 YO hippie ain't paying between $3K and $4K or more for a Taylor, Martin, Collings, Santa Cruz, etc.........12 Fret! That's nuts!

I had a flashback to the '70s earlier this month, and when I came out of it, I had a '76 1614-4 that someone got on eBay for $400 - at my dorstep. It was just like the buyer said, and the images showed - no issues except for a couple "wee small" dingbumps on top, and a musty OHSC. All the wife said was "hey that looks cool, why is is shaped like that, and it's 36 years old"? This baby can hang with the 0028V thats been at the Guitar Center for two years now, and the Sinker Redwood 12-Fret Slot that Taylor had at the last Road Show. I am truly amazed! I will send some pics when I am able to post them.