The Ovation Fan Club
The Ovation Fan Club
Forum Search | Statistics | User Listing Forums | Calendars | Albums | Language
Your are viewing as a Guest. ( logon | register )

Random quote: "Ovation Guitars really don't get the respect they deserve!" - Alex Pepiak

Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
what strings?

View previous thread :: View next thread
   Members Forums -> General PostingMessage format

d'ovation
Posted 2013-02-26 6:53 PM (#465805)
Subject: what strings?

So my 6751 is still in the shop and luthier is undecided if it can be fixed or for how much. So I was able to aquire a mint 6756lx for a fair price, which is lovely. She definitely needs a new set of strings and I am intrigued by coated strings which I have never tried before. But I am not impressed by their high price. So checking eBay and considering shipping costs to my remote area, I could get one set of D'Addario EXP38 for about the same expense as three sets of Adamas 1616 (which I also have never tried). So between these choices, what may be the better "fit" for the 6756, and some pros and cons between them. Thanks.
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Old Man Arthur
Posted 2013-02-26 7:08 PM (#465806 - in reply to #465805)
Subject: Re: what strings?

I don't know about a 3 to 1 ratio... But EXP's last longer that regular strings.

I use EXP36 on my Adamas 12er (and keep a set of EJ36 in the case... in case I break a string).

The 36's are both 80/20, so that is a matter of personal preference... as are most string choices.

So it depends on how often you change strings...
d'ovation
Posted 2013-02-27 10:53 AM (#467823 - in reply to #465805)

Thanks, so how do the Adamas strings and EXPs compare soundwise?
FlySig
Posted 2013-03-01 2:09 PM (#467907 - in reply to #465805)