The Ovation Fan Club
The Ovation Fan Club
Forum Search | Statistics | User Listing Forums | Calendars | Albums | Language
Your are viewing as a Guest. ( logon | register )

Random quote: "I've always felt that blues, rock 'n' roll and country are just about a beat apart."-Waylon Jennings

Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
1615 action

View previous thread :: View next thread
   Member Communities -> Bottom Feeding Luthiery GuildMessage format

Moscow
Posted 2016-01-22 6:50 PM (#520566)
Subject: 1615 action

Happy New Years!

I haven't played my 1615 twelve string lately due to high string action. So, with the new year I decided I needed to tackle making some adjustments. First step was to check the neck. It wasn't too bad (0.015" at the sixth fret) but I thought, might as well see if I can improve that a bit. I should mention I'm a real novice at messing with the truss rod/sadlle/ cutting slots in the top nut area so I was a little hesitant. But nothing ventured, nothing gained. And not destroying my Ovation was a top priority. Opened the top truss rod access only to find my socket was too thick to slip on the nut. Remembering rule #1, don't do anything stupid, I buttoned it back up and proceeded to look under the sadle for shims. Until very recently, I had no idea there were shims under the pickup/sadle, factory installed. I found three totalling 5/32" and removed all of them. My reasoning being, they could always be put back in. Retightened the strings, tuned it up and what a world of difference! I'm going leave well enough alone, forego any thing with the top nut at the moment and play it for awhile. 

So,a couple of questions for those that do their own:

1) is there a special tool for the truss rod nut?

2) Are there specs somewhere on setting string height or checking action? I realize it's a subjective sort of thing but I'm looking for general settings