The Ovation Fan Club
The Ovation Fan Club
Forum Search | Statistics | User Listing Forums | Calendars | Albums | Language
Your are viewing as a Guest. ( logon | register )

Random quote: "Believe me when I say that some of the most amazing music in history was made on equipment that's not as good as what you own right now." - Jol Dantzig

Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
How many is too many?

View previous thread :: View next thread
   Members Forums -> General PostingMessage format

James Smith
Posted 2017-10-09 5:33 AM (#537657)
Subject: How many is too many?

Although I am relatively new to Ovations despite having owned one in the late 80s, I am acquiring the at a ridiculous rate. Despite having an Elite 2778AZ and a Celebrity CC24, I am waiting for the arrival of three more. An 1861LX Balladeer, a Celebrity CSE 48, and an 80s model Elite. My plan is to keep (maybe) the ones I like best and sell the other. I think I am picking up bargains (for Brazil prices) and can sell them locally at a small profit.

There are none that I could find in my part of the country (NE Brazil) but I have located a few in the São Paulo area. It does require some stern negotiating on my part. As I have learned in other businesses, you have to be prepared to walk away when the cost becomes too high to allow a profit. In any case, it's something I enjoy and you can always play the ones you can't sell.

Fortunately, I can do minor repairs and adjustments as well as cosmetic things. That helps, I am sure. It's almost like dealing in used sports cars (something I have done in the past). You have to be able to research the product and enjoy taking a small risk now and then.
Top of the page Bottom of the page
FlySig
Posted 2017-10-09 10:33 AM (#537661 - in reply to #537657)
Subject: Re: How many is too many?

Uh oh, you've caught the disease!