The Ovation Fan Club
The Ovation Fan Club
Forum Search | Statistics | User Listing Forums | Calendars | Albums | Language
Your are viewing as a Guest. ( logon | register )

Random quote: "Got time to breathe, got time for music." --Briscoe Darling.

Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
From Clay49

View previous thread :: View next thread
   Members Forums -> General PostingMessage format

moody, p.i.
Posted 2022-09-12 4:45 PM (#557710)
Subject: From Clay49

An administrator hasn't been by to let Clay49 post in general posting so I thought I'd get his question up in a place where it can be responded to....

Hi Folks,

I’m a long-time professional musician (40+ years) and have been playing all sorts of electric and acoustic guitars through my career. I have always known about Ovation, but never really had a chance to play one other than picking up and strumming some their low-end (import) line at the local Guitar Center, or when I found one used in a local shop.

That being said, I’d like to explore the higher-end, USA models, and would even be open to the higher-end import offerings, but have no idea where to begin this process.

Perhaps I should journal here what I’m looking for in my electric-acoustic tone. I know we all have the struggle of finding a good amplified acoustic tone that doesn’t just sound like every other piezo/UST acoustic guitar out there...you know, that mid-range quack and thin sound that most UST-equipped guitars give.

As I have done some initial searches on Ovations (both new and older USA models), I see a pretty wide range of electronics and so my question(s) is (are): Which models, and which electronic set up (pickup system), gives the most convincing acoustic tone when amplified (and by that, I mean mainly through FOH, not a portable amplifier)?
My goal here is best sound through a system, not necessarily best overall acoustic sound...does that make sense?